High-Speed Railways
Introduction of High-Speed Railways
Release time:2012-04-23 Browse:

Introduction of Shanghai-Nanjing High-Speed Railway


Shanghai-Nanjing High-Speed Railway, an internal railway connects Shanghai and Nanjing, runs through Shanghai, Suzhou, Wuxi, Changzhou, Zhenjiang and Nanjing. It is established in July, 2008, and opened on July 1, 2010.

The railway is about 300 km long, with 31 stations; and the fastest speed can reach 350 km/h. the fastest Shanghai-Nanjing direct train only takes 73 minutes, and 55 minutes from Wuxi to Nanjing, 34 minutes from Wuxi to Shanghai.

Introduction of Beijing-Shanghai High-Speed Railway


The Beijing-Shanghai High-Speed Railway which can be called Jinghu High-Speed Railway is one of the great projects in China. With a total length about 1,318 kilometers, this high-speed railway is a tie connected two major economic zones in the People's Republic of China: the Bohai Sea Rim and the Yangtze River Delta. This project had already began in 2008 April and lasted for about 2.5 years. It will be finished in the October 2011 according to the schedule as a milestone in China railway industry.

The new Beijing-Shanghai line is being built to improve journey times and ease pressure on existing railway corridors between the two cities. At the very beginning, construction of this project was expected to take five years. But till the end of 2010, this high-speed railway line had been in a comparative mature stage and it may be open in the next October with a 3.5-year project time.

With an aim to serve a train runs in 380 km/h, once till this railway is open, it will be named as the world’s fastest one—the position currently occupied by the trains of the Wuhan–Guangzhou line, which opened in December 2009. The non-stop train from Beijing South to Shanghai Hongqiao is expected to finish the 1305 km journey in 3 hours, 58 minutes, averaging 329 km/h.

Basic Information
Name: Beijing-Shanghai High-Speed Railway
Termini: Beijing South–Shanghai Hongqiao
Scheduled Opened Time: October 2011
Length: 1302 km (main line), 1318 km (total)
Duration: about 5 hours in total
Type: CRH (China Railway High-Speed), for passengers transfer services
Operating Speed: 380 km/h
Places Involved in: Beijing City, Hebei Province, Tianjin Province, Shandong Province, Jiangsu Province, Anhui Province and Shanghai City

Technical Support: Wuxi WangDao