Introduction of Wuxi
Location of Wuxi
Release time:2013-07-24 Browse:

Wuxi is a city on the Yangtze River between Suzhou and Nanjing, and is located in the south of Jiangsu Province, half way between the cities of Shanghai and Nanjing, with Shanghai 128km to its east and Nanjing 183km to its west. To its south is Lake Taihu and to its north is Yangtse River. The city is under direct jurisdiction of the province and governs three cities and six districts. Wuxi administers 9 county-level divisions, including 7 districts and 2 county-level cities. Because of its recent development, Wuxi has been dubbed the "little Shanghai".

Wuxi, with another name as Liangxi and called Xi for short, is located at 31°07’ to 32°02’ north latitude and 119°33' to 120°38' east longitude, and belongs to the corridor part of rivers and lakes in the Yangtze River Delta and southeast of Jiangsu. The city, in the east, is next to Suzhou and 128 kilometers away from Shanghai; in the south, borders on the Tai Lake and has a common boundary with Zhejiang; in the west, connects Changzhou and has a distance of 183 kilometers from Nanjing; and in the north, is near the Yangtze River, opposite to Jingjiang, a county-level city subordinate to Taizhou. As a provincial city of Jiangsu, the city covers a total area of 4,627.47 square kilometers (1,643.88 square kilometers in urban area, containing 231.3 square kilometers of built-up areas), of which the area of mountainous areas and hills is 782 square kilometers, accounting for 16.90% of the total area, and that of water surfaces is 1,342 square kilometers, occupying 29.0% of the total area.


Technical Support: Wuxi WangDao